Mercer County

Mercer County

Where your future
is in your hands.

PowerSchool

Mercer Student Wins Scholarship from Local Great Clips

Thursday, Mar 2, 2017

In this photo (left to right): Denise Schiera, Great Clips franchisee; Selena Berrios, student; Madeline Lollo, cosmetology instructor

Trenton, NJ - March 2, 2017: The franchisee owner of local Great Clips salons, recently awarded a scholarship to Selena Berrios, a Cosmetology student at the Mercer County Technical School District's Assunpink Center.


Selena Berrios of Hamilton, and thousands of other cosmetology students across North America, applied for the 2016 Great Scholarship. To be eligible, cosmetology students submitted responses to questions related to their strengths, attributes, and career goals in the cosmetology industry. The Great Scholarship program awards $100,000 each year to cosmetology students throughout North America, with individual awards ranging from $250 to $1,500. This is just one way that Great Clips connects with cosmetology students to provide an opportunity to jumpstart their career.

 

Selena was presented with her award by Denise Schiera, Great Clips franchisee and owner of three Great Clips salons in Mercer County, New Jersey. Great Clips franchisees employ nearly 40,000 stylists who receive ongoing training to learn the Great Clips customer service system and advanced technical skills.

 

Honors like this are especially relevant to students enrolled in career and technical education programs. The Mercer County Technical School District values business partnerships that help students reach their full potential.

To learn more about programs offered at Mercer County Technical Schools, contact Lori Perlow at LPerlow@mcts.edu or visit www.mcts.edu.

Watch Now !

  

HIB Contacts

To report an incident of Harrassment, Intimidation and Bullying (HIB), please contact a specialist below.

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator

Doug Shunk

DShunk@mcts.edu or 609-586-5144, Ext. 2146

 

Back-Up Coordinator

David Lugo

DLugo@mcts.edu or 609-737-9785, Ext. 4012

 

District Specialist

Dana HiceDePugh

DHicedepugh@mcts.edu or 609-438-0109

 

Adult Evening School Specialist

Mary Smith-Jones

MSmith-Jones@mcts.edu or 609-586-5146

 

Assunpink Center Specialist

Megan Ferdetta

MFerdetta@mcts.edu or 609-586-5144, Ext. 2140

 

Health Careers Center Specialist

Sharon Nemeth

SNemeth@mcts.edu or 609-586-5144

 

STEM Academy/Career Prep Specialist

Marcie Tandy

MTandy@mcts.edu or 609-570-3406

 

Sypek Center Specialist

Lance Simek

LSimek@mcts.edu or 609-737-9785, Ext. 4140

Accredited by Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools