Mercer County

Mercer County

Where your future
is in your hands.


MCTS Presents the Health Science Academy Class of 2017

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2017


Trenton, NJ - June 21, 2017:  The Mercer County Technical Schools' Health Science Academy graduation ceremony was held at the Kelsey Theatre at Mercer County Community College in West Windsor yesterday. The Class of 2017 was comprised of students from East Windsor, Hamilton, Hightstown, Lawrenceville, Pennington, Plainsboro, and Trenton.

"The Class of 2017 is our largest graduating class and they've made their mark with numerous distinguishing honors for which we can all be proud," said Dr. Kimberly J. Schneider, Superintendent.

Eshika Agarwal - Penn State University

Bradley Asmoredjo - Mercer County Community College

Patrick Chan - The College of New Jersey

Sanjana Duggirala - Princeton University

Emily Jaruszewski - Smith College

Leah Koreyva - United States Army

Smriti Moorjani - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Jessica Mukhija - Rutgers University

Deanna Muse - Rutgers University

Lizmary Nadal - Rowan University

Zeal Patel - Penn State University

Ina Perez - University of the Sciences

Parnika Puri - Northeastern University

Hira Qureshi - Arcadia University

Bianca Randolph - The College of New Jersey

Olivia Reiss - Mercer County Community College

Angie Reyes - Mercer County Community College

Patrick Rossidivito - New Jersey Institute of Technology

Boris Salazar - The College of New Jersey

Natisha Simon - Montclair State University

Ankur Sinha - The College of New Jersey

Sristhuthi Srinivasan - Rutgers University

Sneah Sukhadia - University of the Sciences

Eric Tapia - Kean University

Nylah Turner - Rutgers University

Alana Williams - Stockton University

To compliment the rigorous curriculum taught by the high school faculty, some students took college classes at Mercer County Community College as early as sophomore year.  All students were given the opportunity to earn college credits through articulation agreements with Mercer County Community College and Rutgers University.
Emily Jaruszewski of Hamilton is the first graduate from the high school to have also earned her A.S. degree in Mathematics at Mercer County Community College (MCCC). Emily walked in Mercer County Community College's graduation ceremony on May 18th with the Class of 2017. "I am so pleased to congratulate Emily on earning her associate degree in Mathematics while also earning her high school diploma from the Health Science Academy. She is such a fine example of the opportunities created by the partnership between MCTS and MCCC," states Dr. Jianping Wang, MCCC President. 
To enrich their education in the health sciences, students were actively involved in a national student organization called HOSA: future health professionals. HOSA provides a unique program of leadership development, motivation, and recognition for the students. Smriti Moorjani of Plainsboro represented the District as the New Jersey State HOSA historian during the 2016-2017 school year. In addition, Sanjana Duggirala of Plainsboro was president of the New Jersey Association of Student Councils and she was named a U.S. Presidential Scholar by the United States Department of Education.
The Health Science Academy was the first full-time, four-year career and technical education program in Mercer County.  The inaugural class was welcomed in September 2010 with support from both public and private stakeholders. County Executive Brian M. Hughes, the Mercer County Freeholder Board and Beverly Mills formerly of the Mercer County Workforce Investment Board provided critical economic data and guidance as the Health Science Academy was being created.  Scott Clemmensen, Vice President of Human Resources at Capital Health, is another key player who was instrumental in the launch of the Health Science Academy and he remains actively involved with the Mercer County Technical School District.

Watch Now !







HIB Contacts

To report an incident of Harrassment, Intimidation and Bullying (HIB), please contact a specialist below.

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator

Doug Shunk or 609-586-5144, Ext. 2146

Back-Up Coordinator

David Lugo or 609-737-9785, Ext. 4012

Health Science Academy • Career Prep Specialist • Assunpink Center Specialist

Megan Ferdetta or 609-586-5144, Ext. 2140

District Specialist

Dana HiceDePugh or 609-438-0109

Adult Evening School Specialist

Mary Smith-Jones or 609-586-5146

Health Careers Center Specialist

Gary Mattia or 609-586-5144

Sypek Center Specialist • STEM Academy • Culinary Academy

Lance Simek or 609-737-9785, Ext. 4140

Accredited by Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools